Letter to the editor: Pro-Choice

January 26, 2017

I believe every abortion is a tragedy.  If I begin there, will you listen to the rest of what I have to say?  (Sen. Dan Foreman, I’m talking to you…)

I believe every abortion is a tragedy, but I also believe studies (such as the one published in Obstetrics and Gynecology in 2012) that clearly show that the most effective way to reduce the abortion rate is to provide access to safe, convenient and affordable birth control, as well as comprehensive sex ed.

I believe every abortion is a tragedy, but I also believe in the right to bodily integrity.  Forcing a person to donate a kidney or bone marrow might save someone’s life, yet we understand intuitively that the donor must freely choose to do so.  Pregnancy carries serious health risk and leads to permanent changes in one’s body and should be freely chosen.

I believe every abortion is a tragedy, but I also believe that the power to choose in difficult situations belongs to the people most impacted by that decision, in this case, the woman and those who support her.  This complex and tragic choice cannot be reduced to something black and white.  Old men who write legislation should not be the ones in control of women’s bodies.

I was raped when I was fifteen.  Luckily, I didn’t become pregnant, but I can say with all honesty that if I had, any of the options open to me would have had tragic consequences.  So I refuse to judge women who choose abortion as the best of several bad options, and I remain whole-heartedly in favor of keeping abortion safe and legal.

One Response to “Letter to the editor: Pro-Choice”

  1. Ron Carver Says:

    We must all be thoughtful and respectful and speak from our hearts if we are to have a chance to change the way people think about things. This post is a fine example. Berating others, even those who wish to curtail our rights, will get us nowhere. We all have a responsibility to keep trying. We may face setbacks as others did before us. But we cannot give up…


Leave a Reply

